Skip to content

New Mexico Writers Grant

New Mexico Writers is a nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting and connecting the state’s literary community. Our mission is to provide grants, networking, and career development opportunities to aspiring writers from diverse communities throughout New Mexico. We believe that by addressing cultural, financial, and professional barriers facing aspiring New Mexico writers, we will build a vibrant literary community that reflects the diversity of our state.


The New Mexico Writers annual grant program is intended to support New Mexico authors in a variety of literary endeavors. The program features a competition for funding new works or works in progress by writers from all populations and geographic areas of New Mexico, including lesser-served communities. 

Grants are awarded at the New Mexico Writers annual dinner, where grantees are honored as special guests. The 2021 annual dinner is scheduled to be held on June 10, 2021, at La Fonda on the Plaza in Santa Fe. (Date is subject to change depending on COVID-19 restrictions in place at that time).


All New Mexico writers are invited to apply for funding to support projects in ONE of any of the following genres: fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, playwriting, and screenwriting. 


Grant recipients are eligible to apply for grants in one of two categories:

New Mexico Writers Annual Grant: New Mexico Writers signature grant supporting writing, research, publishing and other activities pertaining to the creation of new works or works in progress. Grants typically range from $500 to $2,000. 

Douglas Preston Travel Grant: This special annual $1,000 grant, funded by best-selling author and Santa Fe resident Douglas Preston and matching donations, specifically supports an author’s travel needs in the service of a writing project. 

Applicants for either grant may request funding to support their work as needed, including attendance at a writing-related workshop, conference, or mentorship program; research-related travel costs; or enabling time away from employment to work on a project.  

Award recipients are required to submit a report to New Mexico Writers detailing how the grant was used and how their work benefited from the funding. 


Grant applications are due via online submission no later than March 31, 2021. Awardees will be notified by no later than May 15, 2021. 

Click here for additional information and an application form.

The views expressed here are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of the Southwest Word Fiesta™ or its steering committee.

Enriching Life Through Learning in Community

We respectfully acknowledge that the entirety of southwestern New Mexico is the traditional territory, since time immemorial, of the Chis-Nde, also known as the people of the Chiricahua Apache Nation. The Chiricahua Apache Nation is recognized as a sovereign Native Nation by the United States in the Treaty of Amity, Commerce, and Friendship of 1 July 1852 (10 Stat. 979) (Treaty of Santa Fe ratified 23 March 1853 and proclaimed by President Franklin Pierce 25 March 1853).

Related Articles

Mimbres Press Logo Large

Mimbres Press of Western New Mexico University is a traditional academic press that welcomes agented and unagented submissions in the following genres: literary fiction, creative non-fiction, essays, memoir, poetry, children’s books, historical fiction, and academic books. We are particularly interested in academic work and commercial work with a strong social message, including but not limited to works of history, reportage, biography, anthropology, culture, human rights, and the natural world. We will also consider selective works of national and global significance.