Skip to content

Several authors who took part in the Southwest Festival of the Written Word, October 2015, have gone on to win significant awards and recognition for their work.chavez denise 2

Denise Chávez won a 2015 New Mexico-Arizona Book Award for her novel The King and Queen of Comezón. She has also been named as a 2016 recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from UNM. This award comes under the umbrella of the Paul Ré Peace Prize. The winners are honored for Outstanding Peace Promotion Activities.

Price VBV.B. Price also wins the Lifetime Achievement Award from UNM for his work as a distinguished poet, human rights and environmental columnist, editor, journalist, architectural critic, novelist and teacher.

quade, Kirstin ValdezKirstin Valdez Quade’s short story collection Night at the Fiestas won the John Leonard Prize from the National Book Critics Circle, the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and was a New York Times Notable Book.

garcia nasarioNasario Garcia’s Hoe, Heaven, and Hell: My Boyhood in Rural New Mexico won the Fabiola Cabeza de Baca Award, for outstanding publication regarding domestic life in New Mexico. In addition, his Grandma Lale’s Tamales: A Christmas Story won the Children’s Picture and Activity Books Award (Bilingual category).

Russell Sharman AptSharman Apt Russell won the 2016 John Burroughs Medal for Distinguished Nature Writing for Diary of a Citizen Scientist.

Bonnie-in-garden-croppedBonnie Buckley Maldonado won the WILLA Literary Award in Poetry for The Secret Lives of Us Kids: A Childhood Memoir, 1941-1942.

JJ Amaworo Wilson’s novel Damnificados was selected for a Top Ten Picks for 2016 list by ‘O’ the Oprah Winfrey Magazine.

Amaworo Wilson JJ.jpg 2

The views expressed here are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of the Southwest Word Fiesta™ or its steering committee.

Enriching Life Through Learning in Community

We respectfully acknowledge that the entirety of southwestern New Mexico is the traditional territory, since time immemorial, of the Chis-Nde, also known as the people of the Chiricahua Apache Nation. The Chiricahua Apache Nation is recognized as a sovereign Native Nation by the United States in the Treaty of Amity, Commerce, and Friendship of 1 July 1852 (10 Stat. 979) (Treaty of Santa Fe ratified 23 March 1853 and proclaimed by President Franklin Pierce 25 March 1853).

Related Articles

Mimbres Press Logo Large

Mimbres Press of Western New Mexico University is a traditional academic press that welcomes agented and unagented submissions in the following genres: literary fiction, creative non-fiction, essays, memoir, poetry, children’s books, historical fiction, and academic books. We are particularly interested in academic work and commercial work with a strong social message, including but not limited to works of history, reportage, biography, anthropology, culture, human rights, and the natural world. We will also consider selective works of national and global significance.